Hometowns, Fireball, and the New American Dream

As I’ve often said before, our generation focuses more on being happy with our current life. Our parents and grandparents believed in the “American dream”, the 401k package, and the belief to travel after you retire and the kids are grown.

Our generation chooses simplicity.

We want to live out our dreams without regret.

We make millions of mistakes in our twenties, and promise to have our shit together in our thirties. Let’s be honest…I bet our parents did the same, but they had the society based plan and the picket fence to guard their insecurities. Our generation says “screw it, I’m scared and proud”.

My goal for 2014 has been simple: be happy. In March when I found myself in a mentally abusive job, I quit it. When I found myself wanting more out of life, I started a company with a best friend. I found myself frustrated that the career aspect of my life was taking off, but the romance aspect was a dead lull. My usual hopeless romantic self had lost the “hope”, and I had enough of empty promises. So, like any sane person, I swore off dating, dropped my hopeless romanticism attitude, and got myself a puppy.

Again, like any sane person.

So after all of these series of changes in a week time frame, I needed a little family time. I hadn’t spent a lot of time since moving from New York, and decided to spend the beginning of April with family and friends. Within 24 hours in late March I had quit my job, sworn off dating for 6 months, we landed our companies’ first client, and Andrea & I partied like rock stars with a day drinking celebration because of all of the above.  

10 Hours later with baby ZuZu in tow and a massive hangover to boot (god bless Gatorade), we headed up north for a little R&R. I spent the next few days eating local comfort foods and spending time with my family and one of my favorite gal pals.

I expected a quiet weekend retreat with family.

I expected a quiet catch up with one of my favorite gal pals on a Sunday night, at a new trendy restaurant in my hometown enjoying draft beers and barbecue with Lana.

I expected to be home by 10pm, resting for a camping trip with my family the next night.

I expected to go home to North Carolina rested with a business mindset, and my heart in lockdown.

But why would the universe ever give me something vanilla when I planned to settle for it?

What I didn’t expect was a hand on my shoulder to say hello, and a catch up with my brother’s friend.

I didn’t expect that one bar would lead to two, a fireball shot, and a dancing on a bar.

I didn’t expect waking up to a brown eyed boy, taking him on my family’s camping trip, and waking up to him the next morning.

And I sure as hell didn’t expect to leave my heart back in my hometown.

The universe doesn’t like when you plan things. I should have learned by now that no matter how many times I decide to take control, there’s always a greater plan. You just have to buckle up and enjoy the ride. Our generation was right to enjoy simplicity.

I’m just going to continue the one resolution I’ve kept in 2014: Be Happy.

 

2 comments
  1. fshn401 said:

    Your midnight posts always seem to come at the right time. I click on my inbox in utter frustration if a day that seems to have produced no significant change or push in a new direction (my life’s self-appointed mission/calling, apparently). And there you have it, a post from “Small Town Girl and the Big City,” helping me know life’s life, tomorrow’s on it’s way….Opps, oh yeah, wait it’s midnight. Get ready for a new day!! 🙂 Cuz, I’m “*HAPPY*”

    Karen M.
    Spartanburg, SC/Orlando, FL

    • Karen, thank you for your post! You’re right, the best thing about a midnight post is the realization that today is OVER and tomorrow’s full of possibilities!
      And now Pharrell’s song is on repeat in my head…because “I’M Happyyy!”

Leave a comment